THE HAUNTED UNIVERSAL STUDIO SINGAPORE

Gate of Halloween Horror Nights

Gate of Halloween Horror Nights

Halloween is celebrated at every 31 October annually. I really want to see people wearing costumes, putting on some makeup and trying to scare me. It’s so rare to find Halloween events in Indonesia. I had a ticket to Singapore and found out the date was match with a Halloween event which held by Universal Studio Singapore (USS), Halloween Horror Nights 3 (HHN3). It was the 3rd year, and claimed to be the largest and the most terrifying Halloween event in Southeast Asia. As a horror-maniac, I won’t miss this event since it was a rare-to-found event especially in Indonesia. With a normal entrance ticket of 68 Singapore Dollar (SGD), I got 8 SGD discount for a pre book with Master card. Saving! I could use it for some snacks and drink. Hahaha..

Genderuwo

Genderuwo

I arrived at the gate of USS around 5 p.m. and saw guests started to go out from the theme park. Around 6 p.m., only few guests were seen inside the park, maybe they were the ones who bought Stay & Scream ticket. Stay & Scream ticket is HHN3 entrance ticket for USS guests who have bought regular ticket of USS. They ONLY have to pay 50 SGD. What a tired day if you have to stay in the park for almost 24 hours. Phew! Guests started to queue around 06.30 p.m. although the park was opened at 6:45 p.m. Yup, 15 minutes earlier. At 6:45 p.m. sharp, gates were opened and guests run to Hollywood area but park staffs restrained the running-wild guests with some ropes. Thank God, I was in front of the (another) queue. HHN3 was opened by some acts from the main characters of 3 Evil Sisters. The opening acts run for 5 minutes before the staffs opened the rope. Right after gates opened, the guests run again and the staffs tried to redirect the traffic to Madagascar area.

Since the rope to New York area where ADRIFT haunted house lies was still closed and I didn’t want to follow the crowds, I waited there until the rope was opened 5 minutes later. Then I run crazy to ADRIFT and luckily I was in the front line! Yay! When my turn to enter the haunted house, I got Goosebumps. ADRIFT setting is a forsaken storm-battered ship that mysteriously found adrift after being lost on the ocean since 1910 and it is haunted by lingering presence of the missing crews. I love this haunted house because it really feels like a ship, especially its floor. In the sense when you walked, at times you will feel a little unstable and rocky, as if you are really on a ship. I had no idea how they did it, but that was really cool for me. They made it like a Titanic Artifacts exhibition, yet it was scarier. There were the crew decks, the engine deck, the passenger deck, the room corridors, and steps between floors. I was scared not by the ghost characters that stand in the hallway, but the fear of the unknown. And the room that full of surprises is Locker Room!

Attack of Vampires

Attack of Vampires

Next, I came to the main street, the first scare zone: ATTACK OF THE VAMPIRES. Like the name suggests, this scare zone is all about vampires. It is set in the graveyard that once used to be a charming town, now roaming with pale, fang-bearing living dead. New York Library has an incredible projection effect. It distorts, get overrun with crawling creatures. I definitely didn’t forget to take a photo with the vampires. Hehehe. No pic is hoax, right? But I had to save my neck quickly from a blood-thirsty vampire. LOL. Then I took a relaxation in TRANSFORMERS The Ride: The Ultimate 3D Battle. Though I’ve tried this ride before, I want to ride it again because I didn’t want to feel loss for each dollar I spent. Hahaha. Then, I continued to scare myself and walked into another scare zone; CONVENTION OF CURSES. The witches, wizards and practitioners of the dark arts gather here, I kept my guard against witchcrafts and spells because I trespass this zone. LOL. The glowing and vibrant lights where the magic was executed captivated me. I found this zone not scary at all. So, I turned myself into Revenge of The Mummy. Hahaha.

One pretty vampire :D

One pretty vampire 😀

Convention of Curses

Convention of Curses

After the Convention, I came to the 2nd haunted house; SONGS OF DEATH. It is set in the Chinese Opera Academy. The haunted house is in Jurassic Park Rapids Adventure Back-of-House. Themed to Chinese Opera, this is a unique concept for HHN3. Well, maybe because the majority citizen in Singapore is Chinese. What made me surprise was the queue time. Gosh! It was 80 minutes. Fear not, I brought lot of supplies. Hahaha. While waiting, the guests can get a photo souvenir. They took your picture in front of a green screen and the result will show Chinese Opera Academy and The Maiden of Opera as the background. Felt like stepping into a real-life horror movie, I was first greeted by ancestral tablets that rattle rapidly, building more fear and paranoia. I felt that the twists and turns in the house were never going to an end and I was never going to come out because it felt very long, especially mirror-glass at the end. But it’s less scary than ADRIFT.

Help me!!

Help me!!

After I was done with SONGS OF DEATH, I entered the final scare zone; THE FORBIDDEN FOREST. The area near Jurassic Park has transformed into a dark and foggy space. As an Indonesian, I was quite familiar with the ghosts in this zone. There were Pocong, Kuntilanak and Genderuwo. Perhaps, it was the scariest zone for me. The way was foggy and sometimes the creatures here lurked in the shadows and followed me. Huft.  To get to the last haunted house, I had to walk through the Forbidden Forest. There were arrows leading me to the house (said “This Way”), but I kept walking in circles and felt like I couldn’t get out of the forest because these arrows changed directions periodically. Err! I didn’t want to stuck in that place with all of those familiar ghosts and what if there were real ones? So I followed others and finally made it to the last haunted house; HOUSE #13: POSSESSIONS.

Forbidden Forest

Forbidden Forest

It was around 9:30 p.m. and the queue time for HOUSE #13: POSSESSIONS was 80 minutes. Well, if it was like SONGS OF DEATH, then it won’t that long, as my thought said. This was a damn wrong thought! I barely stand with numb foots at the front line at around 11:45 p.m.! Maybe it was because of the Universal Express queue. While I was at the queue, except for two other haunted houses, I could hear screams all over the haunted house. Excited and scared at the same time! In front of the house, a property agent invites all the guests to enter the house but then left us all alone to enter the house on our own. HOUSE #13: POSSESSIONS looks familiar, it’s just everyday objects but they turned them into household nightmare. The cramped room with old television sets displaying static made the room creepier. The scariest part was ghost inside the toilet! If Sadako comes out from a well, it comes out from a toilet! HOUSE #13: POSSESSIONS was the scariest haunted house of all three.

Headless ghost

Headless ghost

By day, USS served its regular attractions and rides to the eagerly waiting crowd. As the sun sets, the park is instantly (within 90 minutes) transformed into a mega horror-zone featuring 3 scare zones; 3 haunted houses. I felt like walking into a set of a Hollywood horror movie and facing my worst nightmares. This event impressed me with the set, the costumes, and the whole general effort put into making it successful.

She turned me into vampire. LOL

She turned me into vampire. LOL

7 responses to “THE HAUNTED UNIVERSAL STUDIO SINGAPORE

Leave a Reply

