PETRA: THE OVERPRICED WORLD OF WONDER

After spent sometime in Amman, my plan for #AnthoJourney was to visit one of 7 Wonders of the World; Petra. To Petra from Amman, you can take a bus or shared-taxi. Me, myself preferred to take a bus cause it was way cheaper. The bus operator is JETT. It cost you 10 Jordanian Dinar, but it only operates once a day, from Amman to Petra at 6:30am and from Petra to Amman at 5pm. This will work if you want a day visit but not if you don’t. Besides, YOU NEED TO BOOK A SEAT IN ADVANCE! One day before my departure I asked my hostel whether I need to book or just go show and they said that I don’t need to book in advance. Well, when I arrived at the bus office, I almost didn’t get a seat. Luckily, there was a person who cancelled. Then, to Petra I went! Hehehe

The city of Petra

The city of Petra

The bus arrived at Petra bus station, next to the entrance, at around 12 in the afternoon. I already asked my hostel, Saba’a Hostel to pick my luggage up, so I could go directly to Petra. After handed my luggage to hostel staff, I walked to the entrance to buy 2-days-pass. I bought 2-days-pass because I didn’t want to rush to explore the massive area of Petra. Passports were needed if you want to buy the 2 or 3 days ticket. Your name will be printed in the ticket and you need to show your passport during your 2nd or 3rd visits. This 2-days-pass cost me 55 Jordanian Dinar. It was way too expensive! It was around 1mio Rupiahs. Well, right after I bought my ticket, there was a local Jordanian that bought herself a ticket for only 1 Jordanian Dinar! This was the most expensive entrance ticket!, even Disneyland or Universal Studio entrance fee is only about 50USD! One day ticket is 50 Jordanian Dinar and this is still be the most expensive entry ticket you pay at any site, be it a UNESCO site or a national park, so it’s overpriced! The entrance fee needs to be reduced to attract backpackers and foreigners, I guess.

Entrance Tickets

Entrance Tickets

For those who don’t know, Petra is an ancient city that believed to being established as early as 312 BC. Home for the Nabateans, an ancient civilization hailing from Northern Arabia, history of Petra was essentially lost to the Western world until 1812, when it was rediscovered by a Swiss explorer, Bruckhardt. I learned that the place where Indiana Jones found the holy grail in “The Last Crusade” was actually a real place. After about 20 minutes of walking through the narrow Siq, I reached Al-Khazneh, known as The Treasury, or the place where Indiana Jones found the holy grail came into view. It’s hard to believe that this huge building was carved into a wall of solid rock. What struck me even more than the sheer size of the buildings was the fact that the Nabateans built all these structures without modern machinery. How the heck did they do it? The other stunning thing about Petra is that the rocks in the afternoon out of the sunshine are red and in the sunshine are almost white, so your photos are always going to change depending upon the time of day your visit.

This Is How Huge Petra Is

This Is How Huge Petra Is

The first day visiting Petra, I didn’t go to Monastery because I still needed to attend Petra By Night. Petra By Night entrance fee is different from daily entrance ticket. You still need to pay 12 Jordanian Dinar. If you spend a night or two in Wadi Musa do not miss this wonderful show of Petra By Night. It is only show on Mondays, Wednesdays and Thursdays. While I walked through the candle lit Siq, I could feel the mystery of the place. It was so different to see Petra in the daylights and with only candle lights inside. All the visitors then sat on mats in front of the Treasury and listened to the traditional Bedouin playing their special instruments while sip sweet flavor tea.

A Glimpse of Petra By Night

A Glimpse of Petra By Night

The second day, I walked directly to Monastery. I didn’t spend much time on spots I’ve visited yesterday because Monastery is so far to reach. There are donkeys handlers that will carry you up to the Monastery if you want a lift at any time. I didn’t quite know how much it cost. Well, be prepared that you must have a good stamina if you want to hike to Monastery. I did it around an hour to reach Monastery. I was exhausted so I need to gather my stamina before I went down again. Be sure you bring lots of water to keep you from hydrated. Food was also insanely expensive inside Petra. I recommend you to bring a picnic lunch if possible, and bring a good sun hat, sun screen, as well as a comfortable walking shoes when touring Petra. Maybe I could fry an egg on the dirt paths that stretched endlessly before me. Hahaha

A Peek of Treasury From Siq

A Peek of Treasury From Siq

I know people often shy away from travelling to Middle East, but as I went there few months ago, you shouldn’t let overblown, xenophobic news reports/ media accounts stop you from seeing the world. Jordan is relatively safe, it has stunning sights and the kindest people you’ll ever meet.

Monastery

Monastery

Treasury

Treasury

Leave a Reply

